Sainte-Anne en Fleurs


Love Live Flower Power!

Is a 5th “fleuron” in our town’s future?  Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue is recognized as a very green city by “Les Fleurons du Québec”, a non-profit organization that rates the beauty of a city’s plantings and  lawns, home gardens, parks and green spaces.  Currently, our town has earned 4 “fleurons” (see the classification). However, we are now up for review, and judges will again visit our streets and parks this summer. 

Can we make it to 5 “fleurons”, the coveted highest ranking?  We need your help to reach the top.  For example, this year you might consider planting a few more flowers, staying right on top of your weeding, adding a hanging basket or flower box to your porch or balcony, or anything else that can add more colour to your front yard.  Unleash your gardening creativity! You, your neighbourhood and the entire town will reap what we sow.


Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue's Official Flowers: A Tale of Two Roses

In 2015, at the request of Mayor Paola Hawa, the Sainte-Anne en fleurs Committee reflected in order to recommend a emblem flower to the City. The selection process considered the advantages and disadvantages of different floral species and the selected choices were then discussed with Michel Le Pourhiet, who was, at the time, the City horticulturist.

The Committee recommended that Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue adopt 2 varieties of roses as emblems:

"Blanc double de CoubertRugosa Rose

  • Successful and successful planting in flowerbeds along St. Anne Street
  • Long flowering period (June to frost), nice red fruits (food for wildlife)
  • Pleasant fragrance
  • Resistant to insects and fungi
  • Requires low maintenance and very robust to cold

"Campfire" Rose

  • This rose from Canadian hybridization honors the famous Canadian painter Thomas John Thomson, who, with some painters of his time, developed the basic premises of the Group of Seven. The flower of this rose recalls a painting called "Campfire". It was developed by Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada in Morden, Manitoba and St-Jean-sur-le-Richelieu, Quebec, and can thus embody the French and English mix of our City.
  • Long flowering period (June to frost; in early summer, the petals are yellow and their tips pink, then become more pink during the season. Some flowers are almost all pink while others are almost all yellow)
  • Pleasant fragrance
  • Insect and disease resistant
  • Requires low maintenance and very robust to cold

The Committee recommended these 2 types of roses because, together, they bring a beautiful variety of colors and arrangements allowing to spread on the whole public and private territory the floral emblem of Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue.


Sainte-Anne en Fleurs Contest

The Sainte-Anne en fleurs Contest encourages the beautification of private and public properties. During the 2020 summer season, volunteers will go around the City streets looking for the properties with the best floral decorations.

The award ceremony is in September at Centre Harpell.

Making our community more beautiful!

Information: France Bernier at 514-457-5756, 


Winners of the 2019 edition!

33, rue St-Thomas

Residential category District 1: Tatiana Cherbina, 29 Montée Sainte-Marie

Residential category District 2: Annette Vézina, 26 Lamarche

Residential category District 3: Greta Shrier, 156 Terrasse Maxime

Residential category District 4: Nancy Di Paolo, 21 230 Euclide Lavigne

Residential category District 5: Katherine Renaud, 176 Tremblay

Residential category District 6: Marilyn Devine and Phillip Miller, 93 Grenier

Balcony category: Julie Ygan, 33 Saint-Thomas

Apartment building category: Pierre Castonguay, 40 Maple

"No lawn" category - South sector: Wendy and Richard Crevier, 19 Saint-Étienne

"No lawn" category - North sector: Linda Ledoux, 88 Tremblay

Super gardner: Elizabeth Armstrong, 21 Lamarche


Winners of the 2018 Edition!

Residential category - district 1: Manrico Biscotti

Residential category - district 2: Stella Rose Silveo

Residential category - district 3: Shawn  Forrest

Balcony category -  district 3: Julie Ygan et Virgilio Libo-on

Residential category - district 4: Raymond Beauseigle

Apartment building category: Diane de Chantal et Michel Bélanger

"No Lawn" Category - South Sector: Elizabeth Armstrong

Residential category - district 5: Suzanne Poirier

Residential category - district 6: Daniel Lévesque

"No Lawn" Category - North Sector: Louise Voyer

Super Gardner: Magdelena Dudek


Winners of the 2017 edition!

Winner of the "no lawn" category - North Sector and winner of the public vote for the "no lawn" category

Residential category - district 1 : Hilarie Harubin

Residential category - district 2: Dylag Dorota

Balcony category - district 2: Daniel Anderson

Residential category - district 3: Louis Portelance

Balcony category -  district 3: Sarah Mailhot

Residential category - district 4: Raymond Beauseigle

Apartment building category: Denise Madden

"No lawn" category - South Sector: Deborah A. Campbell et Bill Tierney

Residential category - district 5 : Claudette Lefebvre et Roland Hardy

Residential category - district 6: Phillip Miller

"No lawn" category - North Sector: Laura Gill


Winners of the 2016 edition!

Category residential districts 1 and 4 - Carol Barrow

Category residential district 2 - Dylag Dorota

Category balcony balcon district 2 - Denis Lortie

Category residential district 3 - Marc Lacroix

Catégorie balcon district 3 - Sarah Mailhot

Catégorie appartement - Denise Madden

Category "No lawn" South Sector - Rachel Dansereau

Category residential district 5 - Claudette Lefebvre et Roland Hardy

Category residential district 6 - Marie-Claude Sanon et Zavier Zoabli

Category "No lawn" North Sector - Magdelena Wnuk

Super Gardeners - Wendy Fernandez


Winners of the 2015 edition!

Category “Lawn-Grass Away” - Deborah A Campbell  (South), Magdalena Dudek et Wnuk Wojciech (North)

Category residential District 1 and 4 - Kenneth G.B. Forrest et Margo Keenan

Category residential District 2 - Rachel Dansereau

Category residential District 3 - Pierre Blanchette et Louise Bourdeau

Category residential District 5 - Wendy Fernandez

Category residential District 6 - Marie-Claude Sanon 

Category apartment building - Michel Huneault



Winners of the 2014 edition!

" Lawn-Grass Away " category - Elizabeth Armstrong

" Lawn-Grass Away " category - Gordon Yee

Residential category districts 1 and 4 - Vern Montpetit

Residential category district 2 - Richard Crevier

Residential category district 3 - Louise-Marie Côté

Residential category district 5 - Wendy Fernandez

Residential category district 6 - Lucie Marceau et Michel Boudreault

Appartment building category - François Riendeau, Kelly Bergeron, Susan Glenn et Thomas Carroll

Logo Sainte-Anne en fleurs