General presentation


Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue: City of Nature and Heritage

The City of Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue is rich in events and outdoor and cultural activities that delight the citizens throughout the year.

Life in Sainte-Anne is the pleasure and calm of the countryside, 20 minutes from downtown Montreal. With a historical village, sports facilities of all kinds, a focus on environment and wildlife and an exceptional waterfront, it is definitely good to live in Sainte-Anne!


Basic Information

Geographical Code: 66117

Designation : Ville (City)

Constitution : April 18, 1878 

Merged with Ville de Montréal : January 1st, 2002 

Reconstitution : January 1st, 2006 (Decree 977-2005) 

N.E.Q. (Quebec Enterprise Number) : 8831858301

Area : 11,20 km2 

Population : 5 012

Administrative Region : Montréal (06) 

Electoral Districts :

Next Elections : 2121

Voting System : First past the post 

Territorial Division : Districts (6) 

Gentilic : Annabellevois, oise


A short historical summary ...

The City of Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue is located on a passageway taken by the First Nations before the Europeans arrived on the territory. The territory then bears the names Tiotenactokte (in Algonquin: Here are the last encampments) or Skanawetsy (in Iroquois: Rapids). These two toponyms illustrate precisely the particular geographical situation of what will become Sainte-Anne.

Beginning in the late 1780s, Scottish immigrants associated with the North West Company moved to Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. Simon Fraser, a major fur trader, owns a house there. In 1840-43, the federal government builds the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue lock. The Canal plays a very important role in Canadian maritime trade; it is the only access route to the Great Lakes and is part of the Montreal-Ottawa-Kingston waterway.

The Village of Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue is founded in 1878 and is incorporated as a City in 1895, shortly after the Canadian Pacific builds the railway bridge over the Canal, parallel to that of the Grand Trunk.

In the early 20th century, the campuses of Macdonald College and John-Abbott College alter the social and urban dynamics of the village. In 1917, the Federal Government erects a hospital to care for World War 1 veterans. Garden City Press, which prints educational and technical journals, moves into the City in 1919, bringing a new vision for urban planning.

In 1924, the Quebec Government built the Galipeault Bridge over the Sainte-Anne Canal and linking Île Perrot to Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. In the 1960s, buildings erected in the 19th century were demolished and replaced by new ones, which are still in place today. In 1987, a pedestrian and bicycle boardwalk was built along the canal.


Municipal Administration

For any request to the City, you must use the Online Request System. This system makes it possible to answer all requests and to produce reports in order to highlight recurring problems.

City Hall
Services related to taxation and assessmentpayment of finesregulations and permits

Municipal Patrol
Ensuring the security of the territory and citizens and enforcing municipal by-laws

Public Works - Municipal Garage
Maintenance of the public domain and urban furniture, snow clearing

Recreation Department - Harpell Center
It includes services related to recreation and culture

Public Library
There is a collection of over 21,400 printed documents, CDs, DVDs, language courses, and more.

For the contact information and opening hours of the different departments


Municipal Council

Composed of the mayor and six councilors, the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue City Council represents citizens, legislators and administrators. For more information on current City Council members, electoral districts, advisory committees, and the meetings schedule, please visit the Democratic Life section of our website.


List of mayors

 Jules Tremblay  1878-1879
 Thomas Grenier    1880-1884, 1885-1886
 Antoine St-Denis  1881-1883
 D. Lebeau  1887
 L. Michaud  1888-1897
 M. C. Bezner   1898-1899, 1901-1905, 1909-10, 1915-1916
 L.N.F. Cypihot  1900, 1921-1922
 J.A. Aumais  1906
 Guisolphe Daoust  1906, 1917-1920
 Bruno Lalonde  1907-1908, 1913-1914
 Joseph Séraphin Vallée    1911-1912
 L.J. Boileau   1923-1931, 1933-1934
 A.R. Demers    1932, 1935-1938
 E.E. Deslauriers   1939-1951
 Philippe Godin  1951-1965
 Jean-Louis PAQUIN  1965-1973  
 Alphonse Trudeau  1973-1978
 Marcel Marleau  1978-1984
 René Martin   1984-1994
 Bill Tierney  1994-2001, 2005-2009
 Francis Deroo  2009-2013
 Paola Hawa  2013...