Centre Harpell

 

The Centre Harpell is the municipal community center of Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. Paired with the library, the swimming pool and the Parc Harpell, this complex brings together many activities and events organized by the City.

The Centre Harpell also houses the City of Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue's Recreation and Community Life Department.

There is a large multipurpose room, a reception room, administrative offices and public toilets.

City council meetings take place at the Centre Harpell, as well as most of the public information sessions or consultations.

 

Contact information

60, rue Saint-Pierre
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue
H9X 1X9

Phone: 514-457-1605
Email: [email protected]

 

Hall Rentals

It is possible to rent the multipurpose room and the reception hall for private events. Find more information in this section.

 

Who is J.-J. Harpell?

In 1918, the Garden City Press, an important business in the urban and economic history of Sainte-Anne, distinguished itself from conventional businesses. It is a textbook printer and educational material for workers set up by J.-J. Harpell. He chooses the site according to the many advantages that the municipality offers. Although far from downtown Montreal, the site is close to two railroads that cross the area and allow for fast shipments across Canada. This businessman is influenced by the theories of the British Ebenezer Howard, who proposes the organization of garden cities to eliminate the insalubrity of cities. In this spirit, Harpell wants to help his employees acquire a property and he pays attention to the land use planning surrounding the plant.


Garden City Press, 1933
© McCord Museum

In 1918, streets, parks and urban infrastructure were developed and 25 houses were built near the printing works for the workers. During the Great Depression, Harpell hired unemployed people to plant trees and asked Frederick Todd to create a luxurious Japanese garden with a pond in front of the Garden City Press, of which unfortunately nothing remains today. In 1945, he transferred control of the company to a worker cooperative.

Centre Harpell

 

Le Centre Harpell est le centre communautaire municipal de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. Jumelé à la bibliothèque, la piscine et au parc Harpell, ce complexe est le lieu de nombreux événements et  activités organisées par la Ville.

Le Centre Harpell héberge également le Services des loisirs et de la vie communautaire de la Ville de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue.

On y retrouve une grande salle multifonction, une salle de réception, des bureaux administratifs et toilettes publiques.

Les séances du conseil municipal ont lieu au Centre Harpell, ainsi que la plupart des séances publiques d'information et consultations publiques.

 

Coordonnées

60, rue Saint-Pierre
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue
H9X 1X9

Téléphone: 514-457-1605
Courriel: [email protected]

 

Location de salles

Il est possible de louer la salle multifonction et la salle de réception pour des événements privés. Trouvez plus d'information dans cette section.

 

Qui est J.-J. Harpell?

En 1918 s'installe à Sainte-Anne la Garden City Press, une entreprise importante dans l’histoire urbaine et économique de la municipalité et qui se distingue des entreprises conventionnelles. Il s’agit d’une imprimerie de manuels scolaires et de matériel éducatif destiné aux travailleurs mise sur pied par J.-J. Harpell. Celui-ci choisit le site en fonction des nombreux avantages qu’offre la municipalité. Bien qu’éloigné du centre-ville de Montréal, le site est à proximité des deux voies ferrées qui traversent le secteur et qui permettent des expéditions rapides partout au Canada. Cet homme d’affaires est influencé par les théories du britannique Ebenezer Howard, qui propose l’organisation de cités-jardins pour éliminer l’insalubrité des villes. Dans cet esprit, Harpell veut aider ses employés à acquérir une propriété et il porte attention à l’aménagement du territoire qui entoure l’usine.


Garden City Press, 1933
© Musée McCord

En 1918, rues, parcs et infrastructures urbaines sont développées et 25 maisons sont construites près de l’imprimerie pour les travailleurs. Pendant la Grande crise, Harpell engage des chômeurs pour planter des arbres et demande à Frederick Todd de créer un luxueux jardin japonais avec étang en face de la Garden City Press, dont malheureusement rien ne subsiste aujourd’hui. En 1945, il transfère le contrôle de l’entreprise à une coopérative ouvrière.